Explore
 Lists  Reviews  Images  Update feed
Categories
MoviesTV ShowsMusicBooksGamesDVDs/Blu-RayPeopleArt & DesignPlacesWeb TV & PodcastsToys & CollectiblesComic Book SeriesBeautyAnimals   View more categories »
Listal logo
All reviews - Movies (6)

Tokyo Tribe review

Posted : 3 years, 1 month ago on 12 November 2014 01:04 (A review of Tokyo Tribe)

Risible, misogynistic nonsense, a couple of funny moments and might have been better if the rappers could actually rap. The opening is revolting and offensive and the film, attractive girls aside, doesn't get much better. A major misstep from Sono.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Meet the Robinsons review

Posted : 3 years, 2 months ago on 11 October 2014 11:41 (A review of Meet the Robinsons)

This was one of the less than classic period Disney movies I'd missed, when the studio I have adored and held above all others since sitting entranced watching a revival run of "Snow White and the Seven Dwarves", my first trip to the cinema, and being first in the queue from then on.

The beautiful traditional animation had been part of that, but mainly it was the heart and the wonderful storytelling, and with the shift to cgi and trying to keep up with It's partnership with Pixar and rivals like Dreamworks it seemed to lose that.

All this meant I didn't have high hopes, but "Meet the Robinsons" really surprised me. It's wildly inventive, has some wonderful, quirky animation and ideas (the bubble transport, the rat pack frogs) and, crucially, it has heart and a traditional story.

Add in a lovely Danny Elfman score and, wonderfully, Rufus Wainwright songs and you have an overlooked gem.

I'm glad I met the Robinsons.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared review

Posted : 3 years, 4 months ago on 2 August 2014 09:08 (A review of The 100 Year-Old Man Who Climbed Out the Window and Disappeared)

Fabulously weird, laugh out loud funny, a film that could only have been made in Scandanavia. Robert Gustafsson is glorious in the central role, a deadpan centre to the chaos unravelling around him. Some wonderful lines, an elephant, explosions, a drunk Stalin dancing, Albert Einstein's useless brother and, randomly, Alan Ford. Utter treat!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Battle Royale review

Posted : 3 years, 7 months ago on 9 May 2014 12:25 (A review of Battle Royale)

Pointless exploitative violence dressed up as satire, hugely disappointing. Trades on the Kitano name.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Inland Empire review

Posted : 3 years, 7 months ago on 9 May 2014 12:23 (A review of Inland Empire)

Impenetrable art school self indulgence on a three hour boredom scale. This is Lynch, a director I love, at his most self indulgent and wacky, alienating everyone else.


0 comments, Reply to this entry

Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo's Film Reviews review

Posted : 3 years, 7 months ago on 3 May 2014 04:30 (A review of Mark Kermode and Simon Mayo's Film Reviews)

My weekly dose of filmic goodness from The Good Doctor and an older Brad Pitt, incisive reviews, top interviews and entertaining bickering. Wittertainment is an essential part of any weekly routine!


0 comments, Reply to this entry

The Room review

Posted : 3 years, 9 months ago on 13 March 2014 01:14 (A review of The Room)

This glorious film gets a gangbusting 5* purely due to the pleasure to be gained from just how hilariously bad it is, a masterpiece of delirious crapness, it redefines the definition of worst movie ever with it's utter po-faced seriousness and the commitment of the truly great Tommy Wiseau. I saw it in a cinema in Wellington, NZ on a "The Room" night, plastic spoon throwing and all, and am happy to say it was the weirdest, most joyous experience... Meanwhile, in San Francisco...


0 comments, Reply to this entry



Insert image

drop image here
(or click)
or enter URL:
 link image?  square?

Insert video

Format block